Web Development Projects

11 Apr

I think that the web is amazing. It has opened up opportunities for some people to make money, to find a life partner, to do research, etc. I know of a few people who got married because they found each other in the Internet. Just recently, a family member informed me of his desire to have a website for his business. The business has been running for 7 years already but until now, it has survived without any marketing and
exposure from the Internet. So, he asked me if I can create one for him since I am in IT. Of course, not wanting to bring shame to myself and disrepute my field, I said yes. Tulah kau Tino..Who asked you to be so proud and unwilling to admit your limited knowledge in web development. Since I already said yes, I might as well start doing something about it. But where do I start? For a newbie like me, searching the Internet for tutorials on developing websites can be an overwhelming experience. there are just so many
of them to choose from. I mean, this is the Internet right? Luckily, a friend recommended a website which he said taught him everything he knows about php and html. Besides having good content, it is also free. The site is w3schools. So I checked it out. Upon entering the site, the text “Full Web Building Tutorials – All Free” caught my sight. I scrolled down and found this section which says: “Where to Start and What does a Web developer have to know? W3Schools will answer this, and help you become a professional Web developer, well prepared for the future.” Ahaa! Finally I found the answer to my needs. So folks, that is all for today. I Probably need to get started by now..

2 Responses to “Web Development Projects”

  1. mozey April 11, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    Best of luck on your project, this MAYBE clear to you but just incase it is’nt:

    – do NOT start from scratch, use a CMS (content managment system), and build off of it. I reccomend either (wordpress, from wordpress.ORG, or joomla).

    – Use dreamhost, they have one click installers!, COOL stuff!. and they are cheap!.

  2. Tino April 11, 2008 at 3:20 pm #

    Thanks for the tip. I tried joomla but i felt that it was a bit complicated and somewhat restrictive. Maybe I didn’t try hard enough. But dreamhost, i’ll check it out..

Leave a Reply

