Going On

19 May

I read an interesting discussion here. Basically, its about some guy who took a Computer Science degree but didnt manage to complete because of some non-CS related subjects which he failed. Anyway, you can read the discussions. It led me to think about my own situation. For the readers out there (if I do have one), just a little information, I have been struggling to complete my “masters” degree for some time now. For others, getting a masters is just a matter of one or two year working hard, but for myself, it has been dragging for nearly..5 years. I’m not trying to get any sympathies here. Just wanting to get this out from my system. After completing my first degree, I naively ventured into the unknown by persuing a masters by research in a local university. It was a roller coaster and it still is. For the past two months, I have been doing some corrections on my thesis. Yup, I am near completion but that, for now can be considered just a myth. Each correction I make is compounded by yet another correction, and another correction. I don’t know for sure when this would end. I have accepted the fact that I might not graduate this year.:-( . I have not gone through my viva voce yet. That, itself is another challenge and I probably have to wait for another 8 months or so for my viva. So, the discussions which I linked with this post cheered me up a little bit. I have considered quitting..many times but after 5 years, I dont think quitting is an option. Yeah, its a drag but someones got to do it. Completing my degree is the only justification I can make for myself after spending 5 years doing this.

My advice to those who plan to do masters by research, pick your supervisors carefully. It is not the title of your research that is important, rather, who your guide is. They will determine probably around 70% on whether you will graduate or not. Another advice, pick your university carefully. Some universities have well defined research groups and postgraduate policies. These are the institutions that takes care of its students and the dropout rate is quite low. Some universities however, are very political. The students are usually the victims while the professors and administrators play God. Avoid them at all cost! But if you are in Sabah, well, tough luck. You probably don’t have a choice in this matter.

3 Responses to “Going On”

  1. cie June 12, 2008 at 4:13 am #

    waaa…lama nda update ni…busy ka?

  2. Tino June 13, 2008 at 3:35 am #

    lama juga kan..busyyy btul..mcm ko tidak tau kan..hehe

  3. boy July 7, 2008 at 7:41 am #

    Yeahhh Mehhh busy hehehe… ko post la ba crita menarik sikit, bgs ko kasi post pasal personality test ko tu hehehehe

Leave a Reply

