Procrastinating Activities

5 Oct

During the weekend, I decided to get down to business. Enough already of holidaying and heavy drinking during the Hari Raya festival. I still have some unattended works like my freelance assignment consultancy agency and other part-time teaching gigs and I am way behind schedule! As usual, procrastination always sets in just as I try to become productive. Before, the source of my procrastination activities were friendster and facebook. Now, after getting bored with them, I still procrastinate but my attention has shifted elsewhere.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’ve started to cultivate an interest on the web. The web is niceee. And you can do a lot of cool stuffs. Besides starting this blog, which I’m not sure if anyone reads, I have also started buying domain names and web hosting facilities. The domain I got for this blog, http://www.kolopis.com, just cost me around RM50.00 per annum. Cool huh! Buli beli 5 set Tiger suda tu tau..I have also experimented with setting my own home web server using WAMP Server which ultimately failed. I was trying to build my own Facebook application and…end of story. I dont recommend anyone to set up their own home web server especially if you use Streamyx. Steamyx is just not meant for hosting. So, I started to search for a free web hosting site. Some place where I can create my own site and test some web applications. As usual, google is my friend.:) I found this site that does just that. Its called zymic. They offer 5000MB web space per account with a total of 50000MB amount of bandwidth transfer per month, and the best part is that they have php, mysql and phpmyadmin built into the server. I created an account and walla..you can check a very basic site I built here.

My procrastination didnt stop here. I was wondering about other alternatives to zymics. So as usual, I checked google. I stumbled upon a google product called Google App Engine . Alamakk..Lagi power pula ni platform. Is this for real? Is google really giving away their infrastructure facilities for free? As mentioned in their website, Google App Engine enables you to build web applications on the same scalable systems that power Google applications. Yup, you can basically build a web app and upload it at google’s app engine. They provide like 500 MB of persistent storage and enough bandwidth and CPU for 5 million monthly page views. Well then, if give a choice between paying and free, I’ll go for free. I’ve already installed the Python runtime and SDK needed to create web app at google. I’ll try to give some feedback soon. I just want to say thank you open source for making all good things free. Muuaxx!!

4 Responses to “Procrastinating Activities”

  1. ciean October 7, 2008 at 4:36 am #

    Good review…. 😉

  2. Steve Jackson October 7, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    Hi,

    Good to know someone who really appreciate the work of open source 🙂 Keep up the good work master of open source programmer …

  3. Tino October 8, 2008 at 12:36 am #

    Thanks cie..:)

  4. Tino October 8, 2008 at 12:41 am #

    thanks steve. Open source is great. i’m still learning though

Leave a Reply

