My Python Adventure

1 Jan

Its the new year. So, I would like to start by wishing everyone out there who reads my blog (the remaining 2 or 3 people) a very happy new year 2009! Today I woke up at 11 a.m. I had a blast celebrating new year’s eve last night with family and friends. Sorry boy, I couldnt come to your house because, ko tau la.. But no worries, we still can continue to have fun. Lama lagi ba 2010. We have the whole year to make 2009 a pleasant experience. I had lunch with Aaron and Juju at Hiltop then after that proceeded to do a bit of experimentation.  Its been a while actually for me to experiment with stuff after work. Working in software can be very draining sometimes. Especially when what I do involves a a lot of maintainance programming. So, to capture back my love for writing code, I decided to experiment on Python using the Django framework.

For you folks out there, Django is a web framework that helps to create high-quality websites faster. It uses the Python language. Why use Python and and not php? Well, I’ve worked with php before though only on the surface. I’ve also tried using some of the php frameworks out there like Prado and CodeIgniter to create some mock websites. I came to a conclusion that using php is a bit hard work. I don’t like the fact that it doesn’t have a proper IDE (Integrated Development Environment) and reading php code snippets can be very tedious and draining sometimes, and there is no 100% guarantee that it will work. I think this is because of the different versions of php. For example, the latest php version is php 5 and it supports a lot of cool features but unfortunately, frameworks like CodeIgnitor is a bit slow to adopt these changes. They only support php 4 and will only consider porting to php 5 in the future. I was actually disappointed about that since my initial plan was to experiment using php to create websites and since I only have php 5 installed, I felt that it was a bit tedious for me to downgrade back to php 4 just for the sake of one framework. I decided to go back to the drawing board. Then it dawned upon me, why not use Python? I’ve experimented with Python before (a year ago maybe) but because of my lazy nature, my experimentation didnt go that far. Since I am a bit more motivated now, I decided to give it a shot.

One thing that is appealing about Python, besides the name is that Google supports it. Remember, Google supports only a small number of languages in its campus ( C++, Java, Python and Javascript). So, whenever a language is supported by a heavyweight like Google, then you better take note because the people in Google are not stupid. They don’t support just any language. I often wonder why they didnt support php. Maybe they have their own reasons like..never mind. You can search it up in google.

You know what, I’m feeling a bit lazy already. Its already 10.30 p.m and I havent done anything significant with Django and Python yet. I’ll continue to blog about my adventures with Python in future posts perhaps.

5 Responses to “My Python Adventure”

  1. heltskay January 2, 2009 at 2:55 am #

    happy new year, and good luck!;)

  2. cie January 6, 2009 at 6:42 am #

    Hey Tino, happy new year 2009. Hugs. Glad you updated….but share2 lah some pics.. he he he

  3. cie January 6, 2009 at 6:46 am #

    believe it or not our very own mr.jonay and mr.donny now has a blog too!!

  4. Google Staff January 7, 2009 at 12:52 am #

    i think you are wrong…. please read more

    check it out.. http://code.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=65622

  5. Sigup February 9, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    good article bos.. 😛 rajin-rajin la update.. hehehe

Leave a Reply

